Autodoll Dreams in a Decaying World

Story 1. “Nameless Pair.”

Update: Re-edited chapter already available at https://sakkamade.github.io/2020/12/15/autodoll-1.


Note: Hello, since not many of you read my very first translation, I’ll say once again:

The grammar, punctuation, sentence construction, the accuracy of translation etc. All of it, and much more, is complete mess. If you fine with it, I hope you’ll enjoy.

You can read summary here.

Although I’ve translated first four chapters myself, you still can read it here.

When the girl woke up, she was blank.
She couldn’t grasp who she was nor could understand where she was.
Despite that, girl was feeling calm.
She gradually began to recognise her surroundings.
This place was bright, air clean and ceiling high.
A chandelier hang down from the ceiling. Girl thought that it was glittering lovely.
For three seconds girl stared at the chandelier, nevertheless there were no signs of changes.
Girl took a deep breath and raised her upper body. She tightly clenched and relaxed both of her hands. Then, in order, she moved each of her legs – up and down.
Uh-huh, girl nodded. Body functioning properly.
In relieve girl stroked her chest. Right at that time: “Good morning.” Girl heard a female’s voice.
Girl was so surprised, she thought her heart would stop. Thus she pressed on her chest and was relieved it didn’t.
The girl merely turned neck to look towards the voice.
Lady1 was sitting beside a girl. Lady was more like a statue or a sculpture, than a living thing.
Her appearance was similar to 17 or 18 year old Japanese lady. She had a charming long black hair, forelock was cut in a straight line.
Her body was ordinary. However the clothes lady was wearing a little eccentric. That was a modest maid outfit. Skirt was so long that it covered most of her legs.
Her facial features delicate and beautiful. Each part was flawless​, and so were the overall harmony. Girl felt a little awkward seeing such a beautiful lady.

“Good morning.”

Said lady in a very fluent Japanese. Pleasant velvet voice. Girl felt that singing a poem would suit her.

“My speech is normal, so if it’s not get through it’s probably an abnormality in your hearing sensor. Can you read by my lips?”

Lady haven’t change her facial expression in a slightest, she said it very dispassionate. Since it was so businesslike girl didn’t notice that it was a question for a moment.
Two seconds later, girl recognised the question and answered aloud: “I can hear you.”
The girl’s voice was not a velvet, like lady owns, but an immature, undeveloped one. Girl didn’t mourn about it, however was a little disappointed.

“Is that so. Then, do you know a name?”
“Your?”
“No, yours.”
“Mine?”
“That’s right.”

Girl groaned, however no matter how much she dived into the sea of her ​​memories, she couldn’t imagine herself in the past. She kept groaning for a while, nonetheless wasn’t able to remember anything.

“I don’t know.”

The girl shrugged her tiny shoulders.

“I see. Is it a memory disorder? Shall we make an examination?”
“Examination?”
“That’s correct. I’m not a medical type, however I can handle it with a reference to the database, I presume.”

The girl slightly tilted her head.
Lady also tilted her head similarly.

“Who are you?”
“I am a fourth generation of an AD. The LM series type Ⅱ.”

Girl tilted her head to the other side. Her hair ran down her cheek.
Girl’s hair was bright blonde and a little wavy.

“My hair is shining.”

The brightness of the room could be seen through the girl’s hair.

“Yes, I consider it’s very pretty.”

Lady smiled.
Girl found lady’s smile awfully gentle.

“Hey, what is AD?”
AD is an abbreviation for Autodoll. Do you know what Autodoll is?”
“I don’t kno-…” At the moment girl said that, something flashed through her mind. “…-ow. I know, probably.”

It wasn’t a piece of the memory. That was a knowledge, girl was aware of an Autodolls. Although girl didn’t knew if she ever been involved with a one.

“Is that so?” Lady nodded.
“It’s a generic name​ for expensive robots, isn’t it?”
“The answer is correct. For more information, look the database later.”
“Are you a robot?”
“Yes I am. However I possess a consciousness.”
“Consciousness? Not a will?”
“Yes. Nothing but consciousness dwell in myself. I’m an intelligent life-form.”
“Is that so.”

Girl easily accepted her words. According to knowledge of the girl, the robots are not conscious. Despite that girl believed lady was one, since she claimed to be.

“Am I also an AD?”
“No. You are a species that called a human.”
“How is it different?”

The girl had no knowledge of humanity.

“In that regard you can also review the database for more details. For now, shall I just say body components are different.”

The girl looked down at her body and then at lady’s. She watched it for a several seconds and it didn’t seem to have much of a difference.

“The appearance is not so different. We, AD, are designed for humankind. However, the internal parts are completely different.”
“Is that so.”
“Yes, so it is. But let’s return to the previous subject, do you want to make an examination?”

Girl shook her head sideways.

“Is it a refusal gesture?”
“It’s not a strong refusal.” The girl smiled. “I feel like it won’t make a difference.”
“You fine like this?”
“Yeah, because that’s not important.”
“What is not?”
“The memory.”
“Your action log isn’t important?”
“Yeah. It’s meaningless to me.”
“Why is it meaningless?”
“It seems like my senses are fine, I guess.”
“Yes, so?”
“Er, maybe I didn’t have any memory originally…”
“I guess that’s not the case. By eye, your age is from about 12 to 14 years, which means you should have been operating for this period.”
“Umm…”

Girl thought lady had some point. Yet, she didn’t feel a necessity to forcefully evoke her memory.
At this moment girl was born anew. That was fine.
The name will be decided from this point on, the memories will be made from here on. There was no particular inconvenience.

“Nevertheless I won’t force you.”
“I see. Then don’t worry about it.”
“I understood. Well then, shall we not worry about it.” Lady easily go along with the girl’s wish. “Instead, please let’s make a regular health check. Just in case.”
“Alright, please be gentle, okay?”
“Yes, I’ll be careful.”

Then a silence fell for a moment, while they gazed at each other.

“Ah, um.” Girl said apologetically. “Are we going to do it right now?”
“No. I’m not in a hurry.”
“Is that so.”
“Yes, so it is. I have plenty of time.”
“If you have a time, tell me about my appearance?”
“Alright, I will. By eye, you’re half Caucasian and half Mongoloid race2, I guess. Skin is so white it reminiscent me of a snowscape.”

“Snowscape?”

The girl knew what a snow was, however she couldn’t imagine the appearance of it.

“I’m trying to convey, it’s pretty.”

Complimented by the lady, girl’s cheeks dyed red.

“I’ll continue.” Said Lady. “Your height approximately one hundred fifty-two centimetres. Body weight is about thirty nine kilogram. Although it below average, you have just awakened from suspended animation, thus I guess it’s possible to say as healthy.”
“Wait a minute.”
“Alright.”
“How do able to figure out my weight by an eye measurement?”
“Right.” Lady nods.
“That’s was when I was embracing you.” Lady showed a gesture of holding luggage in both arms. “Since I carried you here.”
“Oh.” Girl nodded. “Where did you bring me from?”
“It’s about forty-four kilometers to north from here. I rescued you, you was unconscious.”
“What were you doing forty-four kilometers away from here?”

Girl was aware of the kilometer unit. She didn’t knew a concrete, yet she believed it was a long distance.

“Me? Or you?”
“Each of us.”
“You were unconscious.”
“I heard that earlier. Why did I fainted?”
“I reached the conclusion you was debilitated, since after waking up from suspended animation you moved around without nutritions. I provided a necessary treatment, right now you are not in a weakened state any more.”
“I see. Thank you for your help.”
“The ethics subroutine is functioning properly, that was natural to help you.”
“Hmm.” Said the girl. “So what were you doing there?”
“An exploration. I’m successively exploring the surface around here, since something novel can be found.”
“Such as myself?”
“That’s right. It was the first time I’ve run across a life-form other than myself since I began exploring.”
“There no other life-forms?”
“Within a radius of forty kilometers, no. If I’ll explore further I might encounter life-forms again. However, I don’t think there are many.”
“Why?”
“Because the world has perished.”
“Why was it perished?”
“I don’t know. I’m an LM series… abbreviation for Library Management series.”
“Uh-huh.” Girl listened.
“So my occupation is to manage this library.”
“Is this a library?”

Girl looked around.
Certainly it was. Many computer terminals were lined up and plenty of bookcases could be found alongside.
A scenery matched the appearance of the general library which girl had in her mind. However she didn’t remember actually visiting a library.

“Yes. It’s an underground library. It was build so sturdy that it can also act as a shelter in case of emergency.”
“Hmm…”
“I’ll continue.” Said lady. “I was cleaning the library on that day, as usual. It wasn’t opened yet. Having done that, there was an impact and the external power supply has cut off. Since it never restored, I switched to private power generator. After that when I checked the outside – the world was destroyed. ”
“Does that mean you are still using a private power generator?”
“That’s right, I guess I’ll keep it for another twenty years. However, just in case I’m working on a solar panels project additionally.”
“Really?”
“To conclude this, the reason of why the world was perished is remains unknown.”
“I see. Well, it can’t be helped that it’s gone.”

Girl shrugged her shoulders.
For a girl, world didn’t exist from the beginning. She didn’t remember anything, whether it has been perished or prospered.
Therefore it didn’t matter which one it was. No reason to mourn or rejoice.

“May I change the subject?” Asked lady.
“Okay, change it as much as you like.” Answered girl.
“Understood. Would you like to become friends with me?”


  1. I named her “lady”, however in Japanese, original version, she referred with a specific word[Konojo] which translates as she;
    while the girl -[Shoujo] a girl
  2. Same as Europid or white race; and the yellow race; 

2 thoughts on “Story 1. “Nameless Pair.””

Leave a comment