Autodoll Dreams in a Decaying World

Story 27. “Lydia and Ohan.”

Ohan easily carried Apricot under his arm​.
As expected,​ Ohan was powerful, thought Lydia.

“Put her here.”

Lydia pointed at the floor beside computer desk.
Ohan laid Apricot down lengthwise, at the place designated by Lydia. It was an extraordinary courteous and gentle movement.
Ohan was an AD for military use, however Rapha modified his hands, so he could do delicate work.

“Thank you, Ohan.”

Without a delay Lydia inserted a Lightning Blade into the port of Apricot.

“What are you going to do with this AD?”
“Just examine her.”

While saying, Lydia sat down at the desk and boot up computer.

“Why?”
“I wondering what’s wrong and want to find the way to mend her.”

Lydia hit the holographic keyboard and launched software to inspect system of Apricot.

“Is that so.”

Silence.
Lydia was absorbed in the computer screen, while Ohan stood silently, he often doing so without an instructions in the first place.

“Ah.”

Suddenly, Lydia stopped her fingers.

“What’s wrong?”

Asked Ohan.

“Um. Hm, now that I think about it, we should have brought back just a head.”
“Only the head?”
“Right. Apricot’s head”
“Apricot?”
“Name of this AD.”
“Is that so. Why only the head of Apricot?”
“Since there is a quantum brain and her storage, so there”

Similar to the human brain.
Archaic humans were trying to bring AD closer, closer to humans. From that tendency quantum brain was mounted in the head.

“There?”
“Er, that’s why-,1 I thought there was a possibility to repair her.”

Apricot was AD, so body could be changed as much as one would desire. Once they transfer​ a quantum brain and storage, it becomes a fresh Apricot.
Naturally, only if it assumed that Apricot wasn’t conscious.
In case if she done the same to Yuuyami, she couldn’t be sure if Yuuyami would stay Yuuyami.

“Is that so.”

Lydia didn’t know if Ohan understood her.
Ohan’s voice was invariant​ at any situation. Even flatter than the one of Yuuyami.

“Uh-huh. If so, I didn’t have to summon Rapha.”

If they took only a head, it could’ve been brought in the backpack of Yuuyami.

“Why didn’t you do that?”
“Ahー, that’s, er, I didn’t realise it at that time. Since I’m a human being, with『I should have done this』I often noticing things afterwards.”
“I see. Then what about Yuuyami?”

Yuuyami wasn’t a human being. A conscious AD, an intelligent life-form. She was far more logical than Lydia and often gave the best solutions at the right time.

“It happened since Yuuyami was angry.”

With a sigh Lydia shrugged her shoulders.
The wrath keep intelligent life-forms away from most suitable solutions. At hard times, oneself turning careless. Certainly Yuuyami wasn’t ardently angry.
Even so, Lydia believed that the discernment​ of Yuuyami grew dull.

“Yuuyami was angry?”
“Uh-huh.”
“How did she got angry?”
“She was annoyed.”
“Was that beautiful?”
“Eh? Anger isn’t beautiful, you know?”
“But, Yuuyami was beautiful.”
“That how she appeared to be?”
“Yes.”
“If that how it was, do you believe even the anger can be beautiful?”

If the one were to look like Yuuyami, they undoubtedly would be pretty, even if they were crying.
Lydia wanted to make her cry a little. However, Yuuyami has no feature to shed a tears.
In addition, she said that she had no plans to add such a function later.

“Lydia-sama also looks beautiful.”
“Eh?”

In surprise, Lydia widely opened her eyes.

“Lydia-sama also looks beautiful.”

Ohan repeated.

“Am, am I?”

Lydia turned at the chair to Ohan. And then, pointed at her nose with her finger of the right hand.

“Yes.”
“Is that truly truth?”
“Yes.”
“Whaai! I’m so happy!”

Lydia clapped her hands in delight.
Until now, Lydia never considered herself as pretty. It was inevitable since the sole comparison object was Yuuyami.
The word “beautiful” could be applied to extol the appearance of Yuuyami. Lydia believed so.
However.
When she was told that she looked beautiful, happiness spread from the bottom of her heart.

“But” Proceed Ohan.
“Eh? Is there a continuation?”

Lydia suppressed her rejoy.
The meaning could be different due to Ohan’s remark hereafter​.
For instance: beautiful, until you speak; beautiful, if you aren’t doing anything and so on.

“Yuuyami’s words. You are not beloved since you are beautiful.”
“Hm?”

The subject leaped.

“Then, if that’s so…”
“Wait Ohan.”
“Yes.”
“Have you already finished talking about how beautiful and adorable I am?”
“The subject about Lydia being beautiful is over. Now I’m not talking about how beautiful and adorable you are.”
“Ah, uh-huh. I see…”
“Is it okay for me to continue?”
“Go ahead.”
“If that’s so, how can I be loved?”
“Hmー?”

Lydia bent her neck.

“I want to be loved.”
“Er, does that mean romantically?”
“I do not understand.”
“Mmー, then, by whom do you want to loved?”
“By someone.”
“Ahー, hmー, wait a minute.”
“Yes.”

Lydia arranged Ohan’s words.
When soon, she realised that sorting was unnecessary. What Ohan saying was straightforward. He wanted to be loved by someone. That’s it.
The question was:

“Ohan, did you become conscious?”

Ordinary AD wouldn’t say that they want to be loved. Unless they were programmed so.

“No. There’s no signs of that.”
“Really?”
“Yes.”
“I see.”

Lydia nodded. Ohan may not be conscious at this point, since he said so.
However the likelihood of consciousness have begun to germinate, couldn’t be denied.

“Lydia-sama, I want to be loved, even if I’m not conscious.”
“I like Ohan, you know? I considered you was stylish from the first time I saw you. Although Yuuyami was scared of Ohan at first, at present, I guess, she likes you, right?”
“Is that so.”
“Gratified?”
“No.”
“Does me and Yuuyami are no good?”
“What about Ojou-sama?”
“Aah, that sort of thing…”

Lydia comprehend. Ohan didn’t want to be loved by anyone. He was wishing to be loved by Rapha.
However, he haven’t recognised that.
Lydia hesitated whether to point it out or not.
Even if she inform him, it was a complex matter if Ohan would understand it. They should realise such a things himself.
Ohan stared at Lydia with vermilion eyes, and was looking forward to the answer.

“Unfortunately, Rapha may not like Ohan.”
“Is that so.”

Ohan’s voice was flat.

“Rapha consider an AD as a tools. I don’t think she likes or hates them in the first place. I believe she judge whether they are handy or not.”

Ohan was being silent.

“Er, however, we don’t know what the future bring to us, you know?”
“What do you mean?”
“I don’t think it’s impossible for Rapha to turn and look behind. Perhaps.”
“To look behind?”
“Er, I mean, she could come to like Ohan.”
“What’s needs to be done?”
“Before anything else, Ohan must love Rapha. Thereupon, he can show it in words and deeds. Then, perhaps, it would move Rapha’s mind. That how it was with me, you know?”
“How was that?”
“After Yuuyami found me, she very, immensely, sincerely treated me with a great care. For a loooong time Yuuyami was doing so. I had no recollection, but I could understand that. Therefore, I consider Yuuyami as was very important existence for me. I believe that was the origin of love.”

Although only recently they realised the mutual love was romantic.

“Ojou-sama is important. She is my master.”
“Rather, you must show it even further, with complete devotion, in a large scale! Appeal.”
“I don’t understand the difference.”
“That’s right. Uh-huh. I think so. Even so, Ohan ought to think about it himself and behave as he think would be right, you know. That’s if you really wishing to be loved.”
“I am wishing.”
“Well then, do your best.”

And then, he should realise. Ohan, who wish to be recieve love from Rapha, will discover that in the end
he loves Rapha.
Lydia didn’t knew the circumstances of how that emotion was born, nor even if it an emotion in the first place.
However, she believed – there must be realisation.

“Please provide me a subroutine for me doing my best.”
“I mustn’t do it. You will learn and build it by yourself. Since Ohan has a proper self-learning function. The repetition of trials and errors.”

That way, a new subroutine will be created naturally.
The subroutine ought to be obtained, not created. Lydia believed it was very important matter.
If Lydia install a『Subroutine to Make a Moves on Rapha』it would have no point for Ohan to get Rapha’s love.
Such a thing would be trifling. Like a snow, it will melt and disappear with change of the seasons.

“I don’t even know the how to make a first attempt.”
“Hmー, that’s a bit of a problem.” Lydia made a wry smile. “Alright. Then I’ll consult with Yuuyami and give you an advice, only for the first attempt, you know.”

Otherwise, Ohan would never make a move, was what Lydia thought.

“Thank you very much.”

Ohan’s voice was so flat as ever.


  1. this’ll be an elongation from now on, in place of “why” and “whyy“; 

Leave a comment